SH | Use of thermostatic valves

EEN Karlsruhe

This measure was implemented within the scope of the Energy Efficiency Network of the City of Karlsruhe (EnergieEffizienz-Netzwerk Karlsruhe).

Project page

 

Company

Angiomed GmbH & Co. Medizintechnik KG in Karlsruhe has existed for more than thirty years now and has belonged to the American company C.R. BARD Inc. since 1993. The product range stretches from catheters for the specialist fields of radiology, urology and oncology up to stents, of which the production is technologically very complex and which today form the main product group of Angiomed GmbH & Co. Medizintechnik KG. Due to the use of these products on humans, the quality standards are very high.


Contact

Angiomed GmbH & Co. Medizin­tech­­­­nik KG
Wachhausstrasse 6
76227 Karlsruhe
Germany

+49 (0) 721 / 94 45 0
info-bce@crbard.com
bard.de

Contact person
Mr Tara

Measure

Title of Measure
Use of thermostatic valves on ceiling air heaters

Brief description
Due to a missing control device, there is a constant stream of air through the heating circuits of the ceiling air heaters all year round, which means that heat is also released into the room when the ventilators are not in operation. The unwanted stream, especially outside the heating period, can be avoided through the use of simple thermostatic valves. The measure was carried out in 2009.

Success record

  • Investment
    €600 – non-recurring
  • Energy carrier(s)
    Fuel oil
  • Annual savings
    Amount of energy: 9.9 MWh
    CO2 emissions: 2 t
    Energy costs: €690
  • Cost effectiveness
    Payback: 0.9 a
    Internal rate of return: 115 %


 

Copyright notice

This example of ‘Best Practice’ was compiled using images and text with kind permission of the company involved and the project partners. Any reproduction of contents or extracts thereof requires prior written permission by LEEN GmbH.

Calculation basis

The specific parameters shown in the following table have been used to calculate the reduction in CO2 emissions and the savings in energy costs. All details on fuels refer to the calorific value.

 

Energy carrier Electricity Natural gas Fuel oil District heat Wood pellets
Spec. costs 120 €/MWh 55 €/MWh 70 €/MWh 60 €/MWh 40 €/MWh
Spec. emissions 462 kg/MWh 182 kg/MWh 298 kg/MWh 76 kg/MWh 0 kg/MWh

Evaluation practice

The stated investment does not always take the full costs into account, but often refers here to an avoidable-cost approach. Furthermore, in the case of investments in energy efficiency, mostly only the risk ratio (payback period), but not a profitability ratio such as e.g. the net present value or the internal rate of return are taken into account for the economic evaluation. This practice based solely on the risk ratio leads to a systematic exclusion of profitable investments with an operating life of more than five years and thus systematically to too high energy costs due to excluded profitable rationalisation options. For this reason, the internal rate of return is always given in addition to the payback period for the stated measures.

Internal rate of return vs. payback period

Internal rate of return vs. payback period


 

Best Practice

RW | Einsatz von Thermostatventilen

EEN Karlsruhe

Diese Maßnahme wurde im Rahmen des EnergieEffizienz-Netzwerks der Stadt Karlsruhe umgesetzt.

Zur Projektseite

 

Unternehmen

Seit mehr als dreißig Jahren besteht die Angiomed GmbH & Co. Medizin­tech­­­­nik KG in Karlsruhe und gehört seit 1993 zur amerikanischen C.R. BARD Inc. Die Produktpalette reicht von Kathetern für die Radiologie, Urologie und Onkologie bis zu den technologisch sehr aufwändig herzustellenden Gefäßstützen, den Stents, die heute die Hauptproduktgruppe der Angiomed GmbH & Co. Medizin­tech­­­­nik KG bilden. Die Qualitätsstandards sind aufgrund der Anwendung dieser Produkte am Menschen auf einem sehr hohen Stand.


Kontakt

Angiomed GmbH & Co. Medizin­tech­­­­nik KG
Wachhausstrasse 6
76227 Karlsruhe

+49 (0) 721 / 94 45 0
info-bce@crbard.com
bard.de

Ansprechpartner
Herr Tara

Maßnahme

Bezeichnung
Einsatz von Thermostatventilen an Deckenlufterhitzern

Kurzbeschreibung
Die Heizkreise der Deckenlufterhitzer werden aufgrund einer fehlenden Regeleinrichtung ganzjährig durchströmt und geben somit auch bei Ventilatorstillstand unnötig Wärme in den Raum ab. Durch den Einsatz von einfachen Thermostatventilen kann die unerwünschte Durchströmung besonders in der Nichtheizperiode verhindert werden. Die Maßnahme wurde in 2009 durchgeführt.

Erfolgsbilanz

  • Investition
    Einmalig 600,- €
  • Energieträger
    Heizöl
  • Jährliche Einsparung
    Energiemenge: 9,9 MWh
    CO2-Emission: 2 t
    Energiekosten: 690,- €
  • Wirtschaftlichkeit
    Amortisation: 0,9 a
    Interne Verzinsung: 115 %


 

Hinweis zum Copyright

Dieses Best-Practice-Beispiel wurde unter Verwendung von Bild- und Textbeiträgen und mit freundlicher Genehmigung des beteiligten Unternehmens und der Projektpartner zusammengestellt. Jede Wiedergabe von Inhalten, auch in Auszügen, ist nur nach schriftlicher Genehmigung der LEEN GmbH gestattet.

Berechnungsgrundlage

Für die Berechnung der CO2-Emissionsreduktion und Energiekosteneinsparung wurden die in der folgenden Tabelle abgebildeten spez. Kenngrößen verwendet. Alle Angaben zu den Brennstoffen sind auf den Brennwert bezogen.

 

Energieträger Strom Erdgas Heizöl Fernwärme Holzpellets
Spez. Kosten 120 €/MWh 55 €/MWh 70 €/MWh 60 €/MWh 40 €/MWh
Spez. Emissionen 462 kg/MWh 182 kg/MWh 298 kg/MWh 76 kg/MWh 0 kg/MWh

Bewertungspraxis

Die ausgewiesene Investition berücksichtigt nicht immer die vollen Kosten, sondern bezieht sich hier oft auf einen Differenzkostenansatz.. Darüber hinaus wird bei Energieeffizienz-Investitionen meist nur das Risikomaß, die Amortisationszeit, nicht aber ein Rentabilitätsmaß wie z.B. der Barwert oder die interne Verzinsung zur ökonomischen Bewertung herangezogen. Die einzig auf das Risikomaß gestützte Praxis führt zu einem systematischen Ausschluss von rentablen Investitionen mit einer Nutzungsdauer von mehr als fünf Jahren und deshalb systematisch zu hohen Energiekosten wegen ausgeschlossener rentabler Rationalisierungsoptionen. Aus diesem Grund wird bei den ausgewiesenen Maßnahmen neben der Amortisationszeit stets die interne Verzinsung angegeben.

Interne Verzinsung vs. Amortisationszeit

Interne Verzinsung vs. Amortisationszeit


 

Best Practice

Kontakt

Anrede

FrauHerr